Students Inducted into Cum Laude Society

     Eighteen members of Athens Academy’s Class of 2018 were tapped for membership in The Cum Laude Society on Wednesday, April 11. The eighth annual Cabaniss Lecture, which preceded the ceremony, was given by Dink NeSmith, co-owner and president of Athens-based Community Newspapers Inc., publisher of more than two dozen newspapers in Georgia, Florida, and North Carolina.
     As the secondary school equivalent of Phi Beta Kappa, The Cum Laude Society recognizes superior academic achievement and sound character.  Congratulations to inductees Reed Barkley, Malia Busenitz, Ryan Cherry, Joe Colley, Emily Elder, Lauren Geiser, Matt Geisler, Liam Harvey, Grace Hicks, Sara Irvine, Ryan Iyer, Maggie Jordan, Reeya Patel, Sanam Patel, James Patrignani, Cardy Pennington, Emmaline Smith, and Vinson Wang.

Seniors Recognized by National Merit

     Eight members of Athens Academy’s Class of 2018 have been recognized by the National Merit Scholarship Program for their performance on the October 2016 PSAT/NMSQT. Congratulations to Emily Elder and Ryan Iyer, both of whom are National Merit Scholars, and to Cardy Pennington, who is a National Merit Finalist. This fall, Emily will attend Oxford College of Emory University; Ryan will attend Columbia University; and Cardy will attend Washington and Lee University.
     In addition, Lauren Geiser, Liam Harvey, Grace Hicks, Helmut Lord, and Emmaline Smith have been recognized as National Merit Commended Students.
     Since 2007, Athens Academy students have accounted for 37% of all National Merit Semi-finalists named in public, private, and home schools in Clarke and Oconee Counties. 

College Choices

The members of the Class of 2018 will attend these 43 different colleges and universities, across eighteen states from coast to coast.

Appalachian State University
Auburn University
Bates College
Baylor University
Berry College
Boston College
Bucknell University
Columbia University
Davidson College
Embry-Riddle Aeronautical University, Daytona Beach
Emmanuel College
Emory University
Furman University
Georgia College & State University
Georgia Southern University
Georgia State University
Kennesaw State University
Mercer University
Northeastern University
NOVA Southeastern University
Oglethorpe University
Oxford College of Emory University
Parsons School of Design
Piedmont College
Presbyterian College
Rocky Mountain College
Sewanee: The University of the South
Southern Methodist University
University of Alabama
University of Arizona
University of Georgia
University of Miami
University of Michigan
University of Mississippi
University of North Georgia
University of Southern California
University of Texas at Austin
University of Virginia
University of West Georgia
University of Wisconsin at Madison
Valdosta State University 
Wake Forest University
Washington & Lee University 

College Colors Day 2018

Excellence with Honor

An independent school for grades K3-12