Students Inducted into Prestigious Honor Society

Today seventeen members of Athens Academy’s Class of 2021 were inducted into The Cum Laude Society in recognition of their commitment to superior scholastic achievement throughout Upper School. The tenth annual Cabaniss Lecture, which preceded the ceremony, was given by Mr. Richard Patterson, longtime Athens Academy biology teacher, science department chair, faculty advisor to the Student Judiciary Board, and track coach.
As the secondary school equivalent of Phi Beta Kappa, The Cum Laude Society recognizes superior academic achievement and sound character. Congratulations to inductees Charlie Chisolm, Sarah Collins, Eli Condie, Ellie Crosland, Ben Cuneo, McKenzie Elrod, Xinyuan Fan, Dru Hunt, Kate Kleiber, Malcolm Marett, Kavya Menke, Will Morris, Alex Oh, Lewis Scruggs, Anan Shen, Lucy Waugh, and Katherine Woody.
These students represent some of Athens Academy’s best and brightest. They are leaders, athletes, artists, actors, volunteers, and more. This fall they will attend the University of Georgia, Georgia Tech, Columbia University, the University of Pennsylvania, Wellesley College, Vanderbilt University, and the University of Washington.
“We are delighted for these wonderful students and their families,” says Head of School John Thorsen.  “Their hard work has paid off, and they are deserving of this recognition.  They have touched our community in countless ways during their tenure, and we are proud of each of them.”
In 1988, Athens Academy became only the seventh school in Georgia to be chartered as a chapter of The Cum Laude Society. There are currently only eleven chapters in the state. An annual highlight at Athens Academy, the induction ceremony is preceded by a lecture on the lifetime pursuit of scholarship and integrity.
In April 2011, the Athens Academy Board of Trustees formally named the Cum Laude lecture The Cabaniss Lecture to honor Dr. Harvey Cabaniss, a longtime supporter and founding trustee. The first Cabaniss Lecture was held on April 27, 2011, where Dr. Cabaniss was recognized for his service to the school.

Excellence with Honor

An independent school for grades K3-12