Athens Academy is fortunate to have a strong, committed Board of Trustees who offer the school their time, wisdom, and expertise. They represent a wide variety of talent and resources throughout our community, the region, and even across the state. According to the National Association of Independent Schools' Principles of Good Practice, the board is "the guardian of the school’s mission. It is the board’s responsibility to ensure that the mission is relevant and vital to the community it serves and to monitor the success of the school in fulfilling its mission." We are grateful for these individuals' commitment to Excellence with Honor.

Board Chairmen, 1966-present

List of 5 items.

  • Carl R. Nichols, 2021-present

    Carl Nichols assumed the role of chairman of the Athens Academy Board of Trustees in August 2021. Mr. Nichols has been part of the school community for over 40 years, as a parent and also as a longtime trustee.
    Read More
  • Elizabeth B. Sanders, 2017-2021

    Beth Sanders served as chair of the Board of Trustees from 2017-2021. She has been part of the Athens Academy community for over 25 years. In addition to being an alumni parent, Mrs. Sanders previously served as the Board's vice chair and as chair of the Parent Service Organization. 
    Read More
  • James L. "Jimbo" LaBoon, Jr., 2015-2017

    Jimbo LaBoon became the chairman of the Board of Trustees in August 2015 and served until the fall of 2017. He has long been associated with Athens Academy as a parent, trustee, and grandparent.
    Read More
  • Gene Howard, 2008-2015

    Longtime trustee and chairman of the Buildings & Grounds committee Gene Howard assumed the position of board chairman upon the passing of John Wilkins in March 2008. He served as chairman until August 2015. Mr. Howard continues to serve in his role of trustee and committee chairman.
  • John J. Wilkins III, 1967-2008

    Mr. Wilkins served Athens Academy as its founding trustee from the time of its charter in 1966 until his passing in 2008. 
    Read More

Trustees 2022-23

Mr. Carl Nichols / Chairman
Mr. William Trigleth / Vice Chairman
Mr. Victor Wilson / Secretary
Mr. Dick Ferguson III / Treasurer

Dr. Sunil Alexander '90
Ms. Jill Bateman
Mr. Russell Bennett
Mrs. Greta Covington
Mr. Jeffrey DeLoach
Mrs. Rachael Dillon
Dr. Henry Garrard '92
Mrs. Brenda Klein
Dr. Lacy McCurdy
Mrs. Temple McLanahan
Mr. John McLean
Mr. Trai McRae
Ms. Meg Parker
Mr. Mike Raeber
Mr. Rick Rodrigue
Mr. John Rooker
Mr. Frank Sinkwich III '89
Mrs. Mary Beth Smart
Mr. Ed Tolley (ex-officio)
Mrs. Ellen Wilkins Wiley '92 (ex-officio)

Excellence with Honor

An independent school for grades K3-12